Muse of Fire

Towards the end of last year, I decided that in 2017 I would try to dedicate more energy to my photography.  Suno Sitelen would be a key part of that – a solid, static and personal space upon which to share photos, rather than offering them up to the mysterious currents of social media.  My intention is to share a new image/s once a week over the year.  And given that it’s now the 14th, I’m already a week behind.  This was always likely to happen at some point – my personal circumstances are not conducive to reliability in anything other than necessities.  However, I will try to forgive that and move on with hope rather than self-recrimination.

It’s January and winter sunlight is making my ear burn as I type this.  After yesterday’s snow, the heat is welcome.  When the night comes, however, our little open fire becomes a second sun.  I didn’t grow up with a proper fire – the first time I remember being around one was when visiting relatives in Yorkshire.  But now the fireplace feels so essential.  The sound is almost as warming as the flame itself, purring like a giant cat.

Fire truly is a living thing.  I’ll never get bored of it.

Leave a Reply

